What are the Chakras?

What are the Chakras?

Historically originating from ancient Hindu practices, the chakras are the different energy centers of the body. In Sanskrit, "chakra" translates to "wheel" or "spinning disc". There are seven main chakras, but many people believe there to be up to 114 different chakras in the body.

The seven main chakras run along our spines and when they are strong, they open our physical bodies to find harmony between our emotional and spiritual selves. When the chakras are closed or blocked, it is difficult to find balance and we struggle physically and emotionally in the areas related to whichever chakra is blocked.


DharmaCrafts Engraved Crystal Chakra Set


The Seven Chakras

Root Chakra - Muladhara

The root chakra represents our foundation, and grounds us to the physical realm.  It is located at the base of our spine. When it is open and the energy runs freely, we feel confident and secure but when it is blocked, we often feel threatened and unstable. The root chakra is represented with the color red and the associated element of earth.

There are certain yoga poses one can do to help strengthen their root chakra. Both tree pose and mountain help to ground us and open this chakra. When meditating, consider using the Prithvi Mudra (gesture of the earth) to help open this chakra and deepen your meditation. This mudra is performed by touch the tips of your thumbs and ring fingers together while leaving the other fingers straight.

Sacral Chakra - Swadhisthana

The sacral chakra is related to how we express our emotions. It also governs our creativity and sexual energy. When this chakra is blocked, we often feel frustrated and a lack of control over ourselves and our lives. When it is open, we feel happy and have a much easier time communicating with others and understanding ourselves. The sacral chakra is illustrated with the color orange and it’s element is water.

Both bridge pose and pigeon pose help to open the sacral chakra and keep our emotional selves in balance. When meditating, try using the Varun Mudra (gesture for water) to help open this chakra. Touch the tip of the thumb and the pinky together, while the other fingers are left straight and/or relaxed.  

Solar Plexus Chakra - Manipura

This chakra is located in the upper abdomen area and directly correlates to our feelings of self worth. When this chakra is blocked, we often feel copious amounts of self doubt and depression. This chakra is illustrated with the color yellow and it’s element is fire.

Our solar plexus chakra is our inner fire, and there are certain yoga poses to help strengthen this fire. Both boat and triangle pose are great at creating balance and opening the manipura chakra. To help open this chakra through meditation, consider using the Apana Mudra (gesture for digestion). Perform this mudra by touching the tip of the thumb, middle, and ring fingers together, with the other fingers straight.

Heart Chakra - Anahata

The heart chakra is the bridge between the upper and lower chakras. The lower chakras are more material and grounded in the physical realm, while the upper chakras are much more heavily associated with spirituality. As one would expect, this chakra relates directly to how we accept and reciprocate love both to others and ourselves. When this chakra is blocked, a person has trouble accepting kindness and is emotionally blocked off from others. When it is open, one can form deep, loving relationships. This chakra is represented by the color green and it’s element is air. 

Eagle arms, locust pose, and camel pose are all effective at opening the heart chakra. Try using the Anjali Mudra (heart offering) during meditation to open this chakra. This is done by placing the palms together in front of your heart’s center, but leave a small space between the palms.

Throat Chakra - Vishuddha

Our throat chakra works with our heart chakra to give a voice to our thoughts and feelings. When this chakra is open, we can communicate our feelings clearly and articulately. When this chakra is blocked, we may feel as though we cannot find the words to express how we feel or we may express them in a way that is not helpful or damaging. This chakra is represented by the color light blue and it’s element is sound.

Cat cow is a powerful yoga exercise to open the throat chakra. During your meditation practice, consider using the Granthita Mudra (self healing) to help open this chakra. Interlace your fingers, then touch the thumb and index fingers together, creating two interlocked circles, and finally hold the hands at the base of your throat.

Third Eye Chakra - Ajna

Probably the most well-known chakra, our third eye chakra controls our intuition and ability to see the 'bigger picture'. As we are getting higher up in the body, we get closer to our spiritual selves. The third eye chakra begins this, as it sees beyond the physical realm. It is located between the eyes and is also sometimes called the brow chakra. The ajna chakra is represented by the color purple and the element of light.

Sitting in child’s pose can help you open this chakra. During meditation, using the Gyan Mudra (mudra of knowledge and wisdom) can help to open this chakra.  To perform this mudra, touch the tips of the thumb and first fingers together, then leave your other three fingers straight. This chakra is represented by the color indigo and the element of the divine.

Crown Chakra - Sahasrara

The crown chakra is located at the top of our head and is the most heavily associated with spirituality. When your crown chakra is fully open, which is very rare, we are able to transcend and reach a higher level of consciousness. 

Resting in savasana can help open the crown chakra, in addition to head stands and tree pose. When meditating, use the Prana Mudra (vital energy of prana) to help open this chakra by touch the thumb, ring and pinky fingers together while leaving the other fingers straight. 



Check Out Some Of Our Favorite Chakra Jewelry.


Chakra Silk Case Singing Bowl

Chakra Silk Case Singing Bowl I DharmaCrafts

High quality chakra signs etched singing bowls which includes an individual wooden mallet and a cotton pillow packed in delicate silk brocade gift box. Handcrafted in Nepal.

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.